Image Alt

How to apply – Postgraduate Diploma

  /    /  How to apply – Postgraduate Diploma

Post Graduate Diploma Programmes (R635)

Prospective students kindly familiarise yourselves with the following documents below :

Postgraduate Diploma Programmes Available:

The following speciality programmes are presented by WCCN and are accredited by CHE and SANC, registered by SAQA on NQF:

Postgraduate Diploma in Adult Critical Care Nursing

Postgraduate Diploma in Emergency Nursing

Postgraduate Diploma in Mental Health Nursing

Postgraduate Diploma in Midwifery

Postgraduate Diploma in Perioperative Nursing

Postgraduate Diploma in Primary Care Nursing

Please ensure you meet the requirements before applying for any of the Postgraduate programmes.

Additional learning assumed to be in place for entry into these programmes also includes:

Proven proficiency in written and spoken English.

Computer Literacy

Bio natural sciences

Psycho-social sciences

Legal, ethical, and professional practice


Competency in BLS

In addition, students are required to register as a student with the South African Nursing Council for the duration of the study period, via WCCN.

Minimum Admission Requirements for the Postgraduate Diploma Programmes

Must be a Registered Professional Nurse registered with the SANC.

Admission criteria for these prospective students can include:

Relevant 4-year Bachelor’s degree (NQF level 8, R174)


Relevant legacy Bachelor’s degree (NQF level 7, R425) / 4-year Diploma in Nursing and Midwifery offered under Regulation 425 of 22 February 1985 as amended.


A Diploma in Nursing: General Nurse (R.171) with Advanced Diploma in Midwifery (R.1497) (NQF level 7)

2-year Diploma (Bridging course) leading to registration as General or Psychiatric Nurse offered under Regulation 683 of 14 April 1989 as amended, followed by 1-year Diploma in Midwifery offered under Regulation 254 of 14 February 1975 as amended or 4-year Diploma in Nursing and Midwifery offered under Regulation 425 of 22 February 1985 as amended.

Minimum of two (2) years’ experiences, inclusive of a year of community service, as a Professional Nurse or General Nurse and Midwife. According to SANC regulation R 635 4(3).

Programme subjects include:

Nursing Research and Professional Ethics

Leadership and Management in Advanced Nursing Practice

Programme specific specialty subjects.

Programme information:

Programme accredited by: SANC (South African Nursing Council, CHE (Council of Higher Education), SAQA (South African Qualifications Authority)

One year full time programme

Programme credits = 120

Programme level = NQF 8

Completion of the programme will lead to the registration as a Nurse Specialist according to South African Nursing Council training regulation 635 of 5 June2020. CHE and SAQA accredited.

Please Note: Prospective students remain responsible for all fees liable for the duration of the programme.

Applying for Admission

  1. Browse the website for information on all programmes and to download programmes pamphlet with requirements.
  2. Click on apply now and complete the online application process.
Regarding online application:

Complete all fields.

Attached all required documents in pdf format.

All documents must be certified (not older than 3 months).

Documents to attached:

Identity document

Marriage Certificate (if applicable)

SANC current registration

All nursing qualifications and SANC registrations

Academic records of previous nursing studies.

Original National Senior Certificate or equivalent Qualification. No statement of results will be accepted.

Proof of application fee of R250.00 payment